Sewing

My Sewing Machine

I thought it would be a good idea to show my sewing machine set up, so you can see what I use. I dabble in all sorts of crafts but for some reason sewing seemed to have passed me by, having never really done textiles at school, so two years ago I decided to take the plunge and buy my first sewing machine, which was scary but I haven’t looked back!

So here it is, my machine is a Singer Simple 3232. I’m not going to lie, the fact it had lilac on it did draw me to it (typical girl way of choosing I know!). It’s very simple to use and cost me around £150, it was on offer at the time. Although there are some very good machines that are cheaper (around £80-£100) I decided to spend a little extra and go for a machine that I could “grow” into.

This is the perfect sewing machine for beginners. It does everything that I need it to – straight stitch, zig zag, makes button holes and comes with a zipper foot – and that is really all you need.

Singer is a trusted brand and I loved that I could purchase the extra feet and accessorises in my local craft shop, rather than have to hunt them down on the internet.

It may not be all singing and dancing, but for anyone just starting out with sewing there is no need to spend a fortune. Keep it simple and honestly you cannot go wrong.

 

Extra information

 

Here is a little extra information about my machine for anyone interested. This machine was said to be one of the easiest mechanical machines around at the time I purchased it, making it a no brainer purchase for someone with basically no experience sewing like I had at the time.

It has a traditional front loading bobbin and a choice of 32 different stitches including a one step automatic button hole, 6 essential construction stitches, 6 very flexible stretchy stitches and 19 decorative stitches. All selected by the singer dial stitch selector on the face of the machine, with two separate dials for fully adjusting the lengths and widths.

The features included:

  • Quick Start Guide
  • Free Arm
  • Extra-High Presser Foot Lifter
  • Easy Stitch Selection
  • 5mm Stitch Width
  • Sewing Speed
  • Automatic Presser Foot Pressure Control
  • Extra-High Presser Foot Lifter
  • Three Needle Positions
  • Simple automatic needle threader

And the machine came with an accessories pack that included:

  • Soft Dust Cover
  • All-Purpose Foot
  • Zipper Foot
  • Buttonhole Foot
  • Button Sewing Foot
  • Edge/Quilting Guide
  • Pack of Needles
  • Auxiliary Spool Pin
  • Bobbins
  • L-Screwdriver
  • Darning Plate
  • Instruction Manual
  • Foot control

Here’s a closer look at the stitches available on my machine.

I have not had a single problem with this machine in the 2 years that I’ve had it and I can see why Singer is such a loved brand. It has a great feel, sound and look to it with everything nicely laid out and in logical places. I have tried various machines (which I will post about soon)  but still love coming back to my own so have no plans to upgrade just yet.

Leave a Reply

